RCB Defeats Mumbai Indians in 1st IPL Match in 2021

Thrilling opening game as Harshal Patel taken five crucial wickets and completed the streak – Harshal Patel’s impressive finish was decisive for RCB claiming a dramatic victory against Mumbai

Home » RCB Defeats Mumbai Indians in 1st IPL Match in 2021

Mumbai was asked to score the first goal when Kohli won the shot, and in round four, they were hit hard when confusion between the beginners caused the death of Captain Rohit Sharma.

Rookie Chris Lynn was the other hitman and the Australian was quick to fix the situation. He shot the three big six to move the shots and added 70 to the second goal with Suryakumar Yadav.

However, Kyle Jamieson outstripped Suryakumar (23 out of 31) and Lynn (49 out of 35) is half a century behind, a rare high on the court for RCB when the Washington Sundar got a good grip from his bowling alley. dropped a number of catches during the hit.

RCB experimented with Sundar at the top of the standings alongside Kolya, but the ploy was unsuccessful as the southpaw lost 10 of 16 goals in the fourth game.

Trent Boult fired Rajat Patidar (eight of eight) before he finished the power play, but Coley was doing well and Maxwell, outbid by De Villiers, also advanced quickly.

Maxwell hit a pair of six highs and RCB seemed to have triumphed before Rohit remembered his 13-strike pitch: Jasprit Bumra immediately hit Kohli Lot in pounds and it was another game.

RCB Virat Kohli (33 of 29 balls) and Glenn Maxwell (39) (39), after Harshal (5-27) captured three rooks on four balls and limited them to 159-9 in Mumbai’s final hit. AB de Villiers returned with a beautiful but brutal attack when the champion defended the Mumbai Indians with two forts in the final ball thriller Friday at the start of the Indian Premier League at Royal Challengers Bangalore, MA Chidambaram Stadium. De Villiers broke 48 of 27 guns after hitting the trash with the RCB 106 of 5. Harshal Patel finished his dream day with the last delivery in one go and reached his goal of 160 in 20. Haryanas Harshal, a perennial environmental asset in IPL, eventually spent the night from 5 to 27 under light, helping the RCB reduce IM to 159 to 9.


Rohit Sharma (c)run out (Kohli/Chahal)191511126.66
Chris Lynn c & b Washington Sundar493543140.00
Suryakumar Yadav c †de Villiers b Jamieson312341134.78
Ishan Kishan †lbw b Patel281921147.36
Hardik Pandya lbw b Patel131020130.00
Kieron Pollard c Washington Sundar b Patel791077.77
Krunal Pandya c Christian b Patel7710100.00
Marco Jansen  b Patel02000.00
Rahul Chahar run out (Kohli/†de Villiers)00000.00
Jasprit Bumrah not out120050.00
Extras(nb 2, w 2)4
TOTAL(20 Ov, RR: 7.95)159/9
Did not bat: Trent Boult 
Fall of wickets: 1-24 (Rohit Sharma, 3.6 ov), 2-94 (Suryakumar Yadav, 10.6 ov), 3-105 (Chris Lynn, 12.5 ov), 4-135 (Hardik Pandya, 15.6 ov), 5-145 (Ishan Kishan, 17.4 ov), 6-158 (Krunal Pandya, 19.1 ov), 7-158 (Kieron Pollard, 19.2 ov), 8-158 (Marco Jansen, 19.4 ov), 9-159 (Rahul Chahar, 19.6 ov)
Mohammed Siraj402205.50122010
Kyle Jamieson402716.75133101
Yuzvendra Chahal4041010.2583300
Shahbaz Ahmed1014014.0001100
Harshal Patel402756.75122101
Dan Christian2021010.5033010
Washington Sundar10717.0021000
Washington Sundar c Lynn b KH Pandya10160062.50
Virat Kohli (c)lbw b Bumrah332940113.79
Rajat Patidar  b Boult8810100.00
Glenn Maxwell c Lynn b Jansen392832139.28
AB de Villiers †run out (KH Pandya/†Ishan Kishan)482742177.77
Shahbaz Ahmed c KH Pandya b Jansen120050.00
Dan Christian c Chahar b Bumrah130033.33
Kyle Jamieson run out (Bumrah)4400100.00
Harshal Patel not out4300133.33
Mohammed Siraj not out01000.00
Extras(lb 2, nb 1, w 9)12
TOTAL(20 Ov, RR: 8.00)160/8
Did not bat: Yuzvendra Chahal 
Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Washington Sundar, 4.2 ov), 2-46 (Rajat Patidar, 5.5 ov), 3-98 (Virat Kohli, 12.3 ov), 4-103 (Glenn Maxwell, 14.1 ov), 5-106 (Shahbaz Ahmed, 14.6 ov), 6-122 (Dan Christian, 16.3 ov), 7-152 (Kyle Jamieson, 18.5 ov), 8-158 (AB de Villiers, 19.4 ov)
Trent Boult403619.00124120
Jasprit Bumrah402626.50102000
Marco Jansen402827.0092031
Krunal Pandya402516.2591100
Rahul Chahar4043010.7543200
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai
TossRoyal Challengers Bangalore, elected to field first
SeriesIndian Premier League
Player Of The MatchHarshal Patel
Match days9 April 2021 – night(20-over match)
UmpiresKN AnanthapadmanabhanNitin Menon
TV UmpireChettithody Shamshuddin
Reserve UmpireUlhas Gandhe
Match RefereeVengalil Narayanan Kutty
PointsRoyal Challengers Bangalore 2, Mumbai Indians 0
  • Mumbai Indians innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 – 6.0 (Mandatory – 41 runs, 1 wicket)
  • Mumbai Indians: 50 runs in 6.4 overs (40 balls), Extras 0
  • 2nd Wicket: 50 runs in 27 balls (CA Lynn 29, SA Yadav 21, Ex 1)
  • Strategic Timeout: Mumbai Indians – 83/1 in 9.0 overs (CA Lynn 40, SA Yadav 22)
  • Mumbai Indians: 100 runs in 12.2 overs (75 balls), Extras 2
  • Strategic Timeout: Mumbai Indians – 135/4 in 16.0 overs (Ishan Kishan 21)
  • Over 15.6: Review by Mumbai Indians (Batting), Umpire – Nitin Menon, Batsman – HH Pandya (Struck down)
  • Over 17.4: Review by Royal Challengers Bangalore (Bowling), Umpire – Nitin Menon, Batsman – Ishan Kishan (Upheld)
  • Mumbai Indians: 150 runs in 18.2 overs (112 balls), Extras 4
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 – 6.0 (Mandatory – 46 runs, 2 wickets)
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore: 50 runs in 6.6 overs (43 balls), Extras 8
  • Strategic Timeout: Royal Challengers Bangalore – 69/2 in 9.0 overs (V Kohli 27, GJ Maxwell 16)
  • 3rd Wicket: 50 runs in 38 balls (V Kohli 13, GJ Maxwell 36, Ex 2)
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore: 100 runs in 13.2 overs (81 balls), Extras 10
  • Strategic Timeout: Royal Challengers Bangalore – 121/5 in 16.0 overs (AB de Villiers 18, DT Christian 1)
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore: 150 runs in 18.3 overs (112 balls), Extras 11

Scorecard from espncricinfo website..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *